At Home Things to Do

Dear Parents,

I’m sure by now the information about the Coronavirus is getting overwhelming.  It’s such a foreign feeling that’s got everyone looking for ways to normalize their day.  And for gifted children, they are not only worried about themselves, but their family members, friends, and the world! Fortunately, we are in this together. As I told the Dolphins before they left last week, do what you’ve always done as far as washing your hands, cover your cough, and stay home when you’re sick. Let the adults worry. For the past 4 days, I’ve been inundated with different ideas, websites, and free subscriptions to help continue education for the children and normalize their days home. I’ve been trying to come up with the best way to communicate with you all.  For this week, please use the information sent home in the red folder. You can follow the example schedule I gave you or use the Covid-19 Daily Schedule below. I found this one seemed a little more doable at home. Obviously, you can edit this for your home. I think the point is academic time should be a couple hours a day and the rest of the time should be helping at home, crafts, and play. As I tell the class, the best way to become a better reader is to READ! Silent reading in a quiet place is so important. 

Image result for covid 19 schedule

I also made a list of different websites that offer free experiences. Everything from free virtual field trips to learning how to draw. Your child shouldn’t be online all day, but it’s a start to keep that learning flowing. Friday starts our Spring Break time off through Monday, March 30th. Take this time for your family, cleaning, organizing your life, etc. I know I’m looking forward to painting my cabinets and bedroom. I’m also going to be setting up a fun way for us to communicate and share information. More on this later if we are away after Spring Break. In the meanwhile, check out the list below, encourage your child to email me, send me work, send a picture or just reassure them I’m missing them big time! Please, please, please, STAY HEALTHY!

Mo Willems is an American writer, animator, voice actor, and creator of children’s books.

 Mo Willems Link

Virtual Field Trip Link

Free Educational Websites for Kids Link

Please use the links above to find new things to learn and new ways to keep your child engaged in learning. I’m available to help! 🙂

Please find this link to the Specials Information for learning at home. 

First Grade Specials – Lesson and Instructions

CSAI

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *